The Hawthorne School: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
Crooked Lane Books, 2021.
Format
eBook
Language
English
ISBN
9781643857930

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Sylvie Perry., & Sylvie Perry|AUTHOR. (2021). The Hawthorne School: A Novel . Crooked Lane Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Sylvie Perry and Sylvie Perry|AUTHOR. 2021. The Hawthorne School: A Novel. Crooked Lane Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Sylvie Perry and Sylvie Perry|AUTHOR. The Hawthorne School: A Novel Crooked Lane Books, 2021.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Sylvie Perry, and Sylvie Perry|AUTHOR. The Hawthorne School: A Novel Crooked Lane Books, 2021.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID85a1a7cc-944a-97b8-ae76-a3519a923e57-eng
Full titlehawthorne school
Authorperry sylvie
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-06-21 09:48:09AM
Last Indexed2024-07-13 04:03:38AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourceoverdrive
First LoadedJun 30, 2022
Last UsedJul 10, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2021
    [artist] => Sylvie Perry
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/dra_9781643857930_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 14737668
    [isbn] => 9781643857930
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => The Hawthorne School
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 304
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Sylvie Perry
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Domestic
            [1] => Fiction
            [2] => Psychological
            [3] => Suspense
            [4] => Thrillers
        )

    [price] => 1.35
    [id] => 14737668
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => For fans of Riley Sager, The Hawthorne School is a twisty psychological suspense about the lengths one mother will go for her child, inspired by present-day obsession with cults and true crime.

Claudia Morgan is overwhelmed. She's a single parent trying the best that she can, but her four-year-old son, Henry, is a handful-for her and for his preschool. When Claudia hears about a school with an atypical teaching style near her Chicagoland home, she has to visit. The Hawthorne School is beautiful and has everything she dreams of for Henry: time to play outside, music, and art. The head of the school, Zelma, will even let Claudia volunteer to cover the cost of tuition.

The school is good for Henry: his "behavioral problems" disappear, and he comes home subdued instead of rageful. But, there's something a bit off about the school, its cold halls, and its enigmatic headmistress. When Henry brings home stories of ceremonies in the woods and odd rules, Claudia's instincts tell her that something isn't quite right, and she begins to realize she's caught in a web of manipulations and power.

The author's work as a psychotherapist, with a focus on narcissistic manipulation and addictive power dynamics, guides this exploration of a young mother wanting to do the best for her child.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14737668
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => Crooked Lane Books
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)